## **PROBATION DEPARTMENT (chief appointed by Board of Supervisors)**

In 1909, Superior Court Judge Z.B. West appointed the first county Probation Committee. The committee then selected Rev. J.H. Scott as Orange County's first Chief Probation Office on April 16, 1909. Rev. Scott was followed as Chief Probation Officer by:

Paul E. Wright 1920-1921

Russell R. Miller 1921-1925

Leroy A. Warren 1925-1930

Nora M. Allen 1930-1939

David R. McMillan 1939-1967

Carl S. Warner (interim)
Served during part of World War II, while David McMillan was in the armed forces.

Margaret C. Grier 1967-1978

Nancy K. Nelson (acting) 1978-1979

Michael A. Schumacher 1979-1999

Jim Robinson (acting) 1999-2000 Stephanie Lewis 2000-2005

Colleen Preciado 2005-2010

Steve Sentman 2010-2022

Daniel Hernandez 2022